Tuesday, June 18, 2013

‘Delegate Mike McDermott is the Recipient of the 2013 Legislator of the Year Award’

June 17. 2013

 ‘Delegate Mike McDermott is the Recipient of the
2013 Legislator of the Year Award’
“We are proud to announce that Delegate Michael A. McDermott has been named our legislator of the year” stated Steven Kroll, Executive Director of the Maryland State’s Attorney’s Association (MSAA).  Delegate Mike McDermott (R-Worcester & Wicomico Counties) has worked closely with MSAA on several key pieces of legislation while sitting on the House Judiciary Committee.
Delegate McDermott also met with MSAA to discuss numerous bills he sponsored this session, such as HB709, the Sheddy-Bennett Act.  HB709, now enrolled into law, will increase the maximum penalty for being an accessory after the fact to murder in the first degree from 5 to 10 years. He also worked with MSAA on many other bills, such as HB727, HB719 and HB765.
“Unanimously the Board of Directors of the Maryland State’s Attorneys Association voted Delegate McDermott 2013 legislator of the year. We enjoyed working with him in the past and look forward to working with him in the future on bills on behalf of victims, witnesses, law enforcement, and prosecutors” concluded Steven Kroll. 
Delegate McDermott has focussed on several key areas of public safety. His efforts have allowed more cops to remain on the streets while insuring that all defendants have access to legal counsel at every stage of the judicial process. This resulted in saving Maryland Taxpayers tens of millions of dollars. The Sheddy-Bennett Act insures that those participating in covering up or concealing a murder will not get away with a light sentence. His non partisan approach at solving legislative problems has garnered equal support from both sides of the aisle.
“I am grateful to be recognized by the MSAA as their Legislator of the Year”, said Delegate McDermott. “Their efforts as an organization in defense of Maryland crime victims and the rule of law have no equal in the General Assembly.”

Congratulations Delegate McDermott !!

No comments: