Wednesday, February 16, 2011


A ban on outdoor burning of brush after 4 PM went into effect Tuesday in Virginia.

The spring fire season begun at 4 PM Tuesday and runs through April 30.

Virginia law also prohibits burns within 300 feet of woodlands, fields or any other possible fuel source.

Violators face up to a $500 fine. Anyone who allows a fire to escape is liable for the cost of fighting the fire and any damage to others' property.

The Department of Forestry says there were 897 fires across Virginia last year that burned nearly 8,500 acres.

No comments: