Tuesday, October 1, 2013
REMINDER ~ New Laws On October 1st
PARK THE PHONE BEFORE YOU DRIVE
ALL Maryland drivers are prohibited from using their hands to operate a wireless device while their vehicle is in motion.
If you illegally use a wireless device while driving, you can be ticketed--$83 for the first offense, $140 for the second offense, and $160 for subsequent offenses.
BUCKLE UP IN ALL SEATS
ALL drivers and front seat passengers in motor vehicles must use a seat belt. This is a primary traffic offense and carries a fine of $83.
Passengers riding in the rear seat need to be belted too.
This is a secondary traffic offense which carries a fine of $83.
The child safety seat law continues to be enforced and carries an increased fine of $83.
Maryland State Police